Highlighted

How to undo the smoosh after saving and closing

Community Beginner ,
Jul 10, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm new to Illustrator, so I'm guessing this will be an easy fix, but:

After I save something Im working on  (saved as .ai) and close it, if I come back to it later all the elements have been saved into one layer, so I can't keep moving them around separately. It's just become one big image. How do I undo this so I can continue moving stuff around independently? 

Thanks in advance!

Correct answer by Mollynog | Community Beginner

Oof, ok, I just opened it up again to take screenshots for you and now it all works? I have no idea what I was doing wrong or what I did to make it work. 

But for the record, I was saving "normally", just going to Save As and then naming the file and saving it as an .ai file. I've never changed any settings for that or anything. 

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more

How to undo the smoosh after saving and closing

Community Beginner ,
Jul 10, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm new to Illustrator, so I'm guessing this will be an easy fix, but:

After I save something Im working on  (saved as .ai) and close it, if I come back to it later all the elements have been saved into one layer, so I can't keep moving them around separately. It's just become one big image. How do I undo this so I can continue moving stuff around independently? 

Thanks in advance!

Correct answer by Mollynog | Community Beginner

Oof, ok, I just opened it up again to take screenshots for you and now it all works? I have no idea what I was doing wrong or what I did to make it work. 

But for the record, I was saving "normally", just going to Save As and then naming the file and saving it as an .ai file. I've never changed any settings for that or anything. 

TOPICS
How to

Views