• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Illustrator Pathfinder question-"filter produced no result. Please select two intersecting paths"

Explorer ,
Aug 06, 2020 Aug 06, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, 

I'm a newbie to Illustrator so forgive me if this is an obvious answer. 

I'm trying to delete the yellow rectangles with Pathfinder (click to minus front) so that there's transparency in those areas.

I did it before with no issue but I'm now getting no results and the message "Filter produced no result. Please select two intersecting paths." 

Mac OS Catalina 10.15.6

Illustrator version 24.2.3

Screen Shot 2020-08-07 at 6.52.52 am.pngScreen Shot 2020-08-07 at 6.54.48 am.pngOutline of shapesOutline of shapes

[Moved from Community Help (which is about the forums) to a better forum... Mod]
[To find a forum for your program please start at https://community.adobe.com/]

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Explorer , Aug 07, 2020 Aug 07, 2020

I got it to work! Yay! I had to only have one yellow rectangle that I wanted to minus on the artboard at one time over the fill for some reason (instead of the two). 

Thanks for your help and suggestions! 

Nadya 

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Check the stacking order of your objects. I get the same error message when the large shape to be cut out is in front, instead of behind, the objects that are to do the cutting.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,