Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Importing an image to fit Artboard

New Here ,
Jun 29, 2017 Jun 29, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi.

I'm an Ai novice and am struggling with this.  I hope someone can help using layman's terms. I have been "placing" images and then dragging the corners to fit the artboards (8.5x11- letter size).  So far all has been going well until I tried to import a JPEG to use as background.  First, once it lands on the screen, I can't seem to move it.  Then it's HUGE and won't let me shrink it using the intersect lines.  I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong.  Is there a way to make this happen?

I'd love any advice.

BTW, I use a MAC.

Thank you,

V

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jul 03, 2017 Jul 03, 2017

Vanessa, can you post a screen shot? Placing an image should not create an artboard or layer, whether you click to place it at 100% or drag to scale it as you place it.

If you place it as a template, the image will not create an artboard, but will create a template layer with the name of the image. Template layers are locked and dimmed to 50% by default. You can double-click the layer to open layer options to uncheck Template. Templates were only brought up because the first responder, rcraighead

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Are you importing the JPG as a "Template"? This would explain why it comes in large and cannot be scaled. This feature automatically places the selected image onto a locked, grayed-out layer and names it "Template". It CAN be unlocked and the image scale just like any other object.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines