Highlighted

Interlacing 3D Text while Keeping Vectors

Community Beginner ,
Apr 06, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello everyone!

I've been working on a logo for myself for the past week or so, I'm a self-taught beginner.

The logo involves text that I've extruded and created gradients for using the blend tool.

I've attached a photo of what the rough draft looks like; I'm trying to create depth by making the arms of the "x" interact with the "E" by having the left arms of the X be behind the E, but the front two arms remain in front of the "E" to make it appear as the bottom two extensions of the "E" are using the space on the top and bottom of the X to interlock.

My challenge is getting that depth effect to happen. I'm not advanced enough to understand the easiest way to do this, I've been attempting to move it into photoshop to use the 3D workspace for it, but I end up ruining my vectors. I've already had to start over on this project twice and I need to move on to other things, so any help on getting this effect to happen would be fantastic.

IF more info is needed, please let me know!

Hello, Bryan.

I created it with the Blend Tool.

1.png

The "E" one is fairly easy to do.
Create a side Brent and place another gradient object on top.

The "X" created separate gradients on the diagonal bars and blended them together after grouping them.

The smaller the number of blends, the easier it is to work with.
I'm working on about 100.

2.png

Then, hide the unnecessary part of the "E" with a clipping mask.

mask.gif

Topics

Draw and design, How to, Import and export

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more

Interlacing 3D Text while Keeping Vectors

Community Beginner ,
Apr 06, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello everyone!

I've been working on a logo for myself for the past week or so, I'm a self-taught beginner.