• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Is it possible to automate the creation of artboards that correspond to datasets?

New Here ,
Jun 09, 2020 Jun 09, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi!

To make wine labels for a store,  I used the Variables function to automate switching out the text. However, there are still lots of minor tweaks to make to the labels, so I'd like to also automate the process of creating a new artboard in the document for each dataset. I've been at it for a few hours trying to script something for this, but I'm still pretty new to Javascript. Through stitching together some things I found online, I wrote this:

var myDocument = app.activeDocument;

function addArtboard() {
  var firstArtBoard = myDocument.artboards[0];
  for(var prop in firstArtBoard) {
    if(firstArtBoard.hasOwnProperty(prop)) {
      $.writeln(prop);
    }
  }

$.writeln(firstArtBoard.artboardRect);
  var x1 = firstArtBoard.artboardRect[2] + 10;
  var y1 = firstArtBoard.artboardRect[1];
  var x2 = x1 + firstArtBoard.artboardRect[2];
  var y2 = firstArtBoard.artboardRect[3];
  myDocument.artboards.add([x1, y1, x2, y2]);
}

for (i = 0; i < myDocument.dataSets.length; i++) {
  var wineType = myDocument.dataSets[i];
  var newBoard = myDocument.artboards[i];
  addArtboard(i);
  newBoard.dataSet = wineType;
}

(all the code for creating a new artboard from here)

It creates 9 long artboards on top of one another to the right of the initial one-- I realize now this is due to the createArtboard() referencing the initial artboard when specifying the new position, but again, I'm unsure how to fix the position or size. I would attach the illustrator file, but it's coming up with a strange error that prevents it.

forum2.JPG

Any help is appreciated!

TOPICS
Scripting , Tools

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines