Highlighted

Is there a way to edit individual tiles in a patterned fill?

Community Beginner ,
May 17, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello! I am new to Illustrator, so apologies if this is an obvious question. I have created a repeating pattern and filled a shape with it. I know how to edit the swatch to alter the pattern, but I wonder if there is a way to edit the individual elements within the filled shape, such as remove/alter some elements at the edges, without altering the rest of the tiles? I can't seem to be able to isolate them from the rest of the pattern, even after expanding and ungrouping. I would greatly appreciate any help with this.

Adobe Community Professional
Correct answer by Myra Ferguson | Adobe Community Professional

Expanding should do it. Are you using the Direct Selection tool to select the part you want?

TOPICS
Draw and design

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more

Is there a way to edit individual tiles in a patterned fill?

Community Beginner ,
May 17, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello! I am new to Illustrator, so apologies if this is an obvious question. I have created a repeating pattern and filled a shape with it. I know how to edit the swatch to alter the pattern, but I wonder if there is a way to edit the individual elements within the filled shape, such as remove/alter some elements at the edges, without altering the rest of the tiles? I can't seem to be able to isolate them from the rest of the pattern, even after expanding and ungrouping. I would greatly appreciate any help with this.

Adobe Community Professional
Correct answer by Myra Ferguson | Adobe Community Professional

Expanding should do it. Are you using the Direct Selection tool to select the part you want?

TOPICS
Draw and design

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines