Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

JavaScript beginner for Illustrator

May 14, 2020 May 14, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, everyone. I am a graphic designer, and the company I work for uses Illustrator for production work. Things are very slow right now, so I am learning JavaScript to automate some actions in Illustrator.

We send proofs as PDF files to customers, and they show the customer's art placed on an illustration of our product, with all the relevant information, such as the client's name, representative's name, email address, etc.

What I would like to do is to use JavaScript to enter the order's information and put it into the appropriate text boxes on the artboard.

I am brand new to programming, but have started at the very beginning with some online courses from Code Academy, but I do have a good amount of experience with actions in Illustrator.

My question is how can I point the JavaScript to specific text boxes on the Illustrator page? I suppose I can put each box on its own layer and identify it like that, or select each text box and give it a label in the notes section of Illustrator. Can anyone recommend a learning resource for JavaScript specifically working with Illustrator? I checked out the scripting guides, but I don't have enough experience yet to make sense of them.

Thanks!

TOPICS
Import and export , Scripting , Type

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Ooooh. You're in for such a fun and rewarding and... at times infuriating.. but mostly rewarding, journey! Welcome aboard!