Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

javascript placedItem.add() issue

Community Beginner ,
Mar 03, 2021 Mar 03, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi everybody,

I'm new to both javascript and scripting for Illustrator, however, I'm not new to programming in general.

I've been working on a script for placing artwork on artboards for my wife's and my business.  I'm having a hard time getting the placedItems working consistently.  I was previously able to place artwork with:

var currentDoc = app.activeDocument;

var placedImages = currentDoc.placedItems.add();

placedImages.file = artFile variable; (where artFile variable is the variable containing the path to the artwork file.

The add() function call is not working now though and I'm struggling to figure out why.  I'm not totally familiar with ESTK, so I'm not really sure if there is any form of error reporting.

Thanks

TOPICS
Import and export , Scripting , SDK , Tools

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Beginner , Mar 04, 2021 Mar 04, 2021

Well, I feel a little dumb about this, but to my defense I don't really know Illustrator all that well... but I kept having this issue because the layer I was trying to place the art file into was locked.  It worked perfectly fine after I unlocked it...  

Thanks for the suggestions.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Guide ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Is a <Linked File> added to the layers panel? If so, the add() function has done it's job (adding an empty placedItem), which implies that the problem is assigning the file, possibly with the path (assuming you are using a new File object with a path argument). Test that you are using the correct path by placing the image manually (File > Place), selecting it and using