• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

LineStyles: combining dotted and normal lines

Community Beginner ,
Aug 20, 2020 Aug 20, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all... this is driving me crazy. I am currently working on pre WW2 topgraphic maps - converting them to an AI image. Working on the roads, I have a question on a line template I cannot figure out how to make - okay: I am a newbie @ illustrator but I've searched the web and still cannot find anything 😞 I'll literally walk you through it (see attached illustration). My starting position is on a big, good road (1). I use a line with offset. No problem and lines join beautifully. Then I move to a slightly smaller road, less broad (2). I use a singel line in the color or the 'offset lines' of road (1). No problem again. Just a single line. Done. Then I move on to the third road, even smaller (3). No problem either, because this is a transparent line with offset colored lines. Now here's the challenge: from this road (3) I walk into a forest where I have a road that is just earth (4). Not smaller per se, but no more hard surface to walk on. A full line + a dotted line. But how do I do that??? Parallels won't work, as they only work on shapes. I then could cut the base, but that would be a gazillion amount of work. And I see no way to use the offset lines trick to make one line full, while the other is dotted. HELP. 🙂 I am lost (so I won't even get to roads (5) and (6) that are no problem again, though they'll lead me farther into the forest 🙂 Well, thanks for your help - I cannot imagine that illistrator isnt up to this??? Stay safe & in good health! Wim

TOPICS
Draw and design

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Aug 20, 2020 Aug 20, 2020