• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Live Paint vs regular Paint, re: paths

New Here ,
Aug 19, 2020 Aug 19, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have an object that I want to color in, freehand. It will require a huge amount of brush strokes, as I am realistically rendering the object. I'm new to Illustrator, but I understand that a large volume of paths is bad (creates a huge file). Also, it is so difficult to sort through all of the individual strokes on the layers panel to identify them.

I'm trying to comprehend how Live Paint works- because it sounds like this tool will help me with this issue. I only have one shape to color in (every tutorial talks about using Fill to color in separate areas of the drawing. I do not want to use one fill). When I select my object and choose Live Paint, I see separate paths in my layers panel. Is that how it works? Will it still create a multitude of paths?  How is it different than regular Paint Brush strokes?

Or if I have a bunch of strokes, somehow locate all the ones I want to put into Live Paint.. what does that do exactly? What is the benefit of Live Paint vs regular Paint? I need help understanding the theory. I want to learn habits for submitting work professionally, so is an image with less paths the goal?

I want to be free to use as many strokes as I want without making a file that has too much information and can crash. 

TOPICS
Draw and design , Tools

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,
Aug 20, 2020 Aug 20, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Live paint is a shortcut that fills areas enclosed by paths; it has nothing to do with reducing the amount of paths in a file. Its benefit vs. filled shapes (I'm not sure what you mean by 'regular Paint') is as a timesaver.