Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Making bands of color

New Here ,
Aug 08, 2020 Aug 08, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

1875.jpg

I apologize for having taken a photo of this. It was the quickest way that I found to show it here. I am new to Illustrator and am teaching myself as I go. I was wanting to move this as it has words above it. Since they are attached, I can't select it and move it, so I am starting again. What I would like to know is if there is an easier way to make the orange band in the middle of the text? I made it in green and then made it in orange and made the band out of the orange one and then put it on top of the green. The problem is that I can't get the orange on the text (not the numbers) to match up, so I am wanting to know if I can make bands of color on the original so they match up? I hope this makes sense. Thanks so much!

TOPICS
Draw and design , Tools , Type

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Expert , Aug 08, 2020 Aug 08, 2020

Create green/orange/green rectangles and group them.

Select them with the text on top and choose Object > Clipping Mask > Make

Screenshot 2020-08-08 at 22.50.18.png

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert , Aug 08, 2020 Aug 08, 2020

I would suggest making a green rectangle larger than the numbers with a shorter orange rectangle over the top of it.

Copy your text object and paste it on top of the two rectangles (Edit > Paste in Front).

Select the type and the two rectangles with your Selection tool and go to Object > Clipping Mask > Make.

This will use the Type object to Mask the two rectangles.

Hope this helps!

See screenshops below.

Screen Shot 2020-08-08 at 4.54.29 PM.pngScreen Shot 2020-08-08 at 4.54.55 PM.png

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,