Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Need help with turning a logo into a single transparent object

Community Beginner ,
Dec 01, 2020 Dec 01, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I'm still fairly new to Illustrator and I had a question regarding a project for a client. I created this logo for a business and they loved it but they would like a version that is transparent (only the strokes will be seen). And I can't for the life of me figure out how to do this.

First I tried to use simply remove the fills from all of the petals in the rose, but that reveald all of the underlying layers, which doesn't work for my purposes. Then I tried to make the entire logo filled with white (as seen below), which I was planning on merging together, and then selecting all of the white areas from the flattened image and deleting, but I can't seem to get that to work either without turning the layers into raster art first. To be clear my background in in Photoshop, and I understand that vector and raster art are very different things. I feel like my plan is more inline with PS, but I do want this logo to be rescalable as a vector. So I guess I could use any help or suggestions on how to achieve this goal. Thanks!

test.png

TOPICS
Draw and design

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Expert , Dec 01, 2020 Dec 01, 2020

Joshua,

How about the good old Knockout group?

1) Select all the paths and in the Appearance palette click the white Fill to select (only that), then in the Transparency palette set the Opacity to 0,

2) Ctrl/Cmd+G to Group everything,

3) In the Transparency palette tick Knockout Group.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert , Dec 01, 2020 Dec 01, 2020