Highlighted

need pattern brush strokes to maintain the same spacing no matter the size of the shape

Community Beginner ,
May 20, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hope someone can help me. First I am new to AI but not to PS so I have half a clue maybe.  So…. I do leather work and am starting to create my patterns in AI. No problem with the shapes and the like but when I go to add a stitching line, I created using the pattern brush and apply it to say a box and then to a different sized box that would be sewn together the stitching spacing doesn’t match up. So I guess what I am trying to say is I need my 2mm high 45 degree diagonal lines that are 3.38mm apart from each other (that’s the distance between the pricks on the pricking iron)  to stay that way no matter what the size or shape. Make sense?  I know it can be done I see it on other patterns. Any help wouyld be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance. 

on attached picture to differnt sized squares and you can see how they start to offset on each other. thanks the problem.

Correct answer by Don Gatto | Community Beginner

Jeff wanted to get back to you that yes the Type on Path Tool is working combined with the Path Options Spacing. I can do this on any shape with the proper distance between my 45 degree marks. Thank you for your help. Thanks for hanging in there with me to figure this out!!! 

Sincerely,

Don

Topics

Draw and design, How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more

need pattern brush strokes to maintain the same spacing no matter the size of the shape

Community Beginner ,
May 20, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied