Highlighted

Newbie Question: Cannot get grid tool to match grid set in preferences

New Here ,
Jun 08, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi All,

I'm still learning illustrator (Photoshopper here) and I'm having a problem with the grid tool vs the grid I set up in my preferences as the guide. This is for a pattern so I really need a printable grid in the background that lines up with my objects. Both the grid tool and the grid (guide) are set to:

Gridline: every 1 inch

Dividers: 6

Any help to fix this would be very appreciated.

Screenshot 2019-06-08 at 19.11.58.png

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more

Newbie Question: Cannot get grid tool to match grid set in preferences

New Here ,
Jun 08, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi All,

I'm still learning illustrator (Photoshopper here) and I'm having a problem with the grid tool vs the grid I set up in my preferences as the guide. This is for a pattern so I really need a printable grid in the background that lines up with my objects. Both the grid tool and the grid (guide) are set to:

Gridline: every 1 inch

Dividers: 6

Any help to fix this would be very appreciated.

Screenshot 2019-06-08 at 19.11.58.png

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Jun 08, 2019 1
Most Valuable Participant ,
Jun 08, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Elisabeth,

You may ignore the grid in the preferences, and do it in one of a few ways:

A) With the Grid Tool to form an outer square/rectangle with inner lines as a Group:

1) Click on the Artboard with the Grid Tool, set the total size of the desired printable grid and set the number of dividers in each direction to the number of squares less one to create the whole grid as a Group in one go;