Highlighted

No matter what I do, compound path won't work

Explorer ,
Jul 21, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

This happens from time to time. I'm a frequent Illustrator user. I understand very well how to make a compound path. The holes in front, no strokes, no grouping. I have checked every single thing, from opacity to making sure the path is entirely closed, and yet it won't work on some of my graphics.

Not that this should matter but they started as image traced graphics that I expanded. This always seem to create two overlapping paths. I deleted the additional one and only have one path for each shape.

I also restarted Illustrator.

Any ideas?

Thanks.

Most Valuable Participant
Correct answer by Jacob_Bugge | Most Valuable Participant

Jane,

Pathfinder>Minus front is your friend.

Topics

Bug, How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more

No matter what I do, compound path won't work

Explorer ,
Jul 21, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

This happens from time to time. I'm a frequent Illustrator user. I understand very well how to make a compound path. The holes in front, no strokes, no grouping. I have checked every single thing, from opacity to making sure the path is entirely closed, and yet it won't work on some of my graphics.

Not that this should matter but they started as image traced graphics that I expanded. This always seem to create two overlapping paths. I deleted the additional one and only have one path for each shape.

I also restarted Illustrator.

Any ideas?

Thanks.

Most Valuable Participant
Correct answer by Jacob_Bugge | Most Valuable Participant

Jane,

Topics

Bug, How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Explorer ,
Jul 21, 2020