• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Objects having random fill when turned into pattern swatch

Community Beginner ,
Jan 15, 2021 Jan 15, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

This is my first attempt at making a pattern swatch in illustrator and I've run into an issue at the final step. After turning my pattern into a swatch and testing it one of my icons is altered with random fill and I can't figure out why. I tried going back to the icons original file and ungrouping everything, then it worked when turned into a swatch, but if I bring that new ungrouped icon into my final pattern it still comes out funny. I've attached screenshots to show clearly what I mean. Any and all help appreciated my deadline is fast approaching :s 

Thankyou x

TOPICS
Bug , Draw and design , Tools

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jan 16, 2021 Jan 16, 2021

I regret that I have no explanation for why this happens, but for some reason, in the process of generating your pattern (and it doesn’t happen when making a pattern of just the orange slices) the compound paths making up the magenta loop and most of the black segment borders spontaneously have their fill rules changed (See Attributes panel/read the documentation) so that where there was an opening or hole it is now filled.

It may be (I’m speculating) that the pattern as a whole, and these obj

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Sorry, I am not seeing a problem. Only one of the screenshots is downloadable for me, are there 2? Can you insert the image instead of link (the 4th icon from the right will embed it).

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines