• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

offsetting a messy PNG

New Here ,
Feb 19, 2021 Feb 19, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am trying to understand how to take this "hairy" png and keep the quality the same but add an "offset" to it so I can make it a sticker.

If I do the image trace, it creates a mess and no path to offset.  I am still pretty new to vectorizing PNGs so could you please help me with the specific steps you would take to achieve this end result?

C.png

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

default80409iqqfhco,

As I (mis)understand it, you wish to have a cut path round the hairy C shape so you have a transparent outer rim part.

In that case I am afraid you would regret it if you managed to have it follow the C shape, too difficult to place and too frail at the ends.

I believe you will be happier if you simply create a shape more or less like a reversed D, only with rounded corners.

You can either:

A: For a reverse D with a possibly partially vertical right side:

1) Create an ellipse with the Ellipse Tool, if needed move/adjust it to get the desired rim shape to the left and top and bottom;

2) Adjust the right side of the ellipse by ClickDragging the rightmost Anchor Point (you can obtain a partially vertical side by dragging until the Handles align with the path) and adjusting the Handles of the top, right side, and bottom, Anchor Points to get a suitable shape; you can .

B: For a reverse D with a more definite vertical side:

1) Create an ellipse with the Ellipse Tool, if needed move/adjust it to get the desired rim shape to the left and top and bottom;