• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Passing a $.filename path variable via bridgetalk

New Here ,
Aug 06, 2020 Aug 06, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello there! I'm pretty new to this whole coding/scripting thing, so forgive me...

I'm trying to pass a variable to get the relative path to a .jsx file via bridgetalk (From Illustrator to Photoshop if that is of any matter!)

Here's my code:

var scriptPath = (new File($.fileName)).path 

//Bridgetalk stuff
var scriptToLoad = new File (scriptPath + "/psScript.jsx"// laddar den rätta skriptfilen
try {
    if (!scriptToLoad.exists) { throw new Error("script not found!"); }
    scriptToLoad.open ("r"); // read only
    var message = scriptToLoad.read();
    scriptToLoad.close()
catch (error) {
    alert("Error parsing the file: " + error.description);
}
#target photoshop-13
var bt = new BridgeTalk();
bt.target = "photoshop";
bt.body = message + scriptPath.toSource();
bt.send();

And on the other end in psScript.jsx I'm just trying to get it to alert me the path in a dialog box:
alert('Script path is: ' + scriptPath);

TOPICS
Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Aug 06, 2020 Aug 06, 2020

one way of doing what you need with minimal changes to your code is by

- wrapping your psScript in a function

- adding the function call to your bt.body. In other words, right now message refers to the psScript (which is just the function now), so we need to add the function call including the path parameter.

function main() {
    var scriptPath = (new File($.fileName)).path 

//Bridgetalk stuff
    var scriptToLoad = new File (scriptPath + "/psScript.jsx") // laddar den rätta skriptfile

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied