• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

PDF created with Illustrator is showing hidden layers. Sometimes.

Community Beginner ,
Apr 06, 2017 Apr 06, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I admit I am an Illustrator noob. I'd like to understand what is happening here, and avoid it if I can. I created a PDF from an illustration, after hiding a couple of layers. I thought that the PDF would only have the layers that were visible, and when I open it in all the various readers I have on my PC, that was the case. Recently, though, a friend printed it from his Mac (I'm not sure which app), and ALL the layers printed on top of one another. How can I prevent that extra information from being in the PDF in the first place? TIA!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Beginner , Apr 12, 2017 Apr 12, 2017

My friend was finally able to get back to me after I sent an experiment file with "Create Acrobat layers" UNchecked. I also unchecked keeping it editable, though that probably has nothing to do with anything, but when a very busy friend was helping with an experiment I only wanted to take one shot. It worked! I'd be curious to see whether it works for you if you only uncheck creating the layers.

Thanks everyone for your help!

Votes

Translate

Translate
Explorer , Aug 10, 2022 Aug 10, 2022

After saving as PDF, hidden layers suddenly started showing up when printed. The only way I was able to stop that from happening was to delete the hidden layer in illustrator prior to saving to PDF. This issue just started showing up for some reason. I have saved many PDF files for print and never had a problem. Hope this helps someone..

Votes

Translate