• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

pen tool layer problems in app on macbook pro

Community Beginner ,
Nov 24, 2020 Nov 24, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have a lot of experience with illustrator but new to using the app version - long story. So, I am trying to create a new illustration and I set up several layers, each to be the recipient of various aspects of the drawing. The end result is a compilation of layers to form a complex drawing. I have been doing this for years without issue until now.

Problem:  I make multiple layers so I can easily change one path without affecting another... that is critical in making complex drawings. But the pen is taking action on anchors NOT in the layer in which I am working!! I have to overlap paths and if an anchor needs to sit on a line of a shape on another layer the pen adds that anchor to the other layer instead of the one I am working in! It has also removed anchors from layer 2 when I am working in layer 3 etc. I checked and double-checked... I am definitely working in the layer I want... I have the layer selected... but as soon as I click to add an anchor (to a spot which is on the same coordinates as an existing line that line is not in the active layer) poof! It either adds or removes an anchor to the wrong path. This has crippled my ability to work. If there is a setting that needs to be turned on or off please someone tell me.... and if so WHY is the safer way not the default? 

I am losing my mind along with my money. I needed designs shipped a week ago and I can't because of this problem.

I am using a new macbook pro 10.14.5

TOPICS
Draw and design , Performance , Tools

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,
Nov 25, 2020 Nov 25, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Can you perhaps show something?