• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Pencil/Paintbrush vs. Pen

Explorer ,
Oct 08, 2013 Oct 08, 2013

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm still learning to use the Pen tool, in the meantime, I'm drawing artwork with the Pencil and Paintbrush.

1. After mastering the Pen tool, are there reasons to still use the Pencil or the Paintbrush?

2. I drew two shapes once with the Pencil and once with the Paintbrush. It seems like after drawing with both tools, that I have access to the same options in the Control Panel for chaning the stroke size, variable width profile, and brush definition, essentially making the end result from the two different tools the same. What are the main differences or reasons to use the Pencil vs. the Paintbrush?

Thank you.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Probably personal preference and whatever the project calls for.  I like using the Pencil tool when I want somewhat a hand drawn look.  The Pen tool is more accurate and technical.  Problem I find is the Pencil tool leaves you with a lot of extra anchor points.  The Brush tool is pretty close to the Pencil tool with a few extra options.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

There are reasons youyu might use the paint brush and the pencil tool rather than the pen tool and experience will tell you when the pen tool is simply more versatile and accurate so it has more usage but say you wnted to fill an object with a brush like texture like such  the brush tool will work much better than the pen tool. Circumstances usually dictate which tool is best.