Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Pencil tool fidelity(?) issue when smoothing lines

New Here ,
Jan 15, 2021 Jan 15, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I'm a professional illustrator, been using AI for years.  I opened up my computer this morning and tried to work on a document in Illustrator and noticed the pencil tool having really weird behavior.  The lines were coming out quite wobbly, and when I tried to retrace them to smooth them (a common part of my drawing guesture), it doesn't smooth, it adds more anchor points and makes it more wobbly.  I tried looking it up and saw that it might be the fidelity setting but I hadn't changed the fidelity since last night.  When I did turn smooth up to max, it made a slight improvement, but was still nowere near the behaviour I was used to.  I tried hooking up my older Wacom and the problem persisted it's not the tablet.  Reinstalled Illustrator and problem persisted.  I booted up my old laptop tried the pen tool in Illustrator on that device.  It worked exactly the way I expected.  Same tablet, same version of Illustrator.  Only thing that's different is the computer.  I'm on a 2018 Macbook pro running Big Sur 11.1. The old laptop is on Mojave 10.14.4.  Could it be the OS?  I updated my new laptop weeks ago, I'm not sure why it would suddenly create a problem for Adobe.  

I've attached a video that demonstrates what's happening.  The first part is the weird, wobbly behavior I expereinced this morning on the Big Sur device.  The second part is the behavior on the Mojave device.  This is what I expect to happen with the pencil tool

TOPICS
Draw and design , Tools

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
New Here ,
Jan 15, 2021 Jan 15, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied