• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Photo to vector

Explorer ,
Aug 05, 2020 Aug 05, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello.  I'm new to AI and I feel a bit like a deer in the headlights.  I figure I'll just start to learn little bits at a time, while still using other art programs I am comfortable with. 🙂

What I would like to do is turn a pet photo into a vector image.  Automatically.  I've started to play around a bit.  I'm getting the idea.  But, I'd love some input or video tutorials.  My biggest stumbling spot is how to save it so I can open it in my other program and edit all the paths etc.  Right now when I save it (svg) and import to my other program (Inkscape) it's one image and I can't ungroup like I normally can with other svg files.  Many, many thanks.

~Tonya

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Aug 05, 2020 Aug 05, 2020

So you are importing photos and then you are using Image Trace?

If it doesn't work just exporting as an SVG, you could try and Expand it first: Object > Image Trace > Expand.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

So you are importing photos and then you are using Image Trace?

If it doesn't work just exporting as an SVG, you could try and Expand it first: Object > Image Trace > Expand.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Yes.  Thank you.  It's working now.  I may just needed to be a bit more patient in waiting for them to ungroup.  🙂

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard