• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Please help... newbie confused about fonts.

Community Beginner ,
Nov 07, 2017 Nov 07, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

hi everyone.

im very new to all of this digital art, and I only just got an iPad Pro.  I’ve been playing around in

illustrator, and would like to know how to import a font with an .oft

I’ve searched the forum and now more confused lol

its a font the colours can be manipulated.  I downloaded it as a zip file, unzipped it, but don’t know

How to move the .otf file into illustrator.

i have installed it onto my iPad, however it only shows up black.  Apparently the font can

only be manipulated in adobe programs.

please help!!

Michelle from    

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
LEGEND ,
Nov 07, 2017 Nov 07, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

A font is a font is a font. You install it on your system using the system font panel and use text tools to create text in AI or whatever program. If you want to manipulate the actual font file, you need different programs like FontExplorer or FontStudio. The rest is makes no sense. At this point I'm not aware that any program would actually support font coloring in an OpenType font file, even if it may exist in some exotic part of the technical specification. In any case, as far as Adobe programs in their current state are concerned it's a moot point.

Mylenium

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,
Nov 08, 2017 Nov 08, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied