• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

PNG Icon Files

Community Beginner ,
Dec 16, 2020 Dec 16, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello.  I am new to Illustrator, and I have an icon file as a PNG, in which I am trying to change the background color.  I am able to successfully change the color, but when I do, I lose the lightbulb icon (which is white), and I end up with just a circle with the new color.  I am assuming it is a layer issue.  How do I separate the two elements (lightbulb icon, and color background), so I don't lose the white lighbulb icon when I update the background color?

Thanks for any assistance as this has been driving me crazy!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

A screenshot would really help in trying to understand what you're dealing with.

Are you using Image Trace to achieve this?

If yes, select the PNG and look in the Control Panel or Properties panel for Image Trace popup menu and choose the Default Preset. Then go to Object > Image Trace > Expand. 

This should allow you to select the Background and Icon and all vector shapes individually with the Direct Selection tool (A).

Hope this helps!

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Misplaced post, deleted.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied