Highlighted

Print on demand save as/export cmyk and rgb

New Here ,
Sep 02, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I have been learning illustrator for a few months now and would now like to start make some designs that I can uppload to print on demand websites like teespring/redbubble/merch by amazon.

Now I am not quite sure yet how to save the design properly for print. I understand how to export as -> then with 300 ppi,  None anti-aliasing (according to teespring) and transparent but what I am wondering is regarding cmyk and rgb.

I know that this has been asked before but I didn't feel like I got the hang of it. So cmyk is for print so that is what I want it to be saved as.

So I already have designs I would like to print I only want to save them properly in cmyk format. 

What I am doing is converting the whole file from rgb to cmyk and then do export as -> use artboards -> then with 300 ppi,  None anti-aliasing (according to teespring) and transparent. Is that enough? is it in cmyk then?

I get confused when selecting the elemet I want printend and press edit colors and "convert to rgb" is in grey. Does that mean that rgb is selected or that it is not possible to select rgb since the file is in cmyk?

Thanks in advance,

Carl

[Moved from Using the Community (which is about the forums) to a better forum... Mod]
[To find a forum for your program please start at https://community.adobe.com/]

Most Valuable Participant
Correct answer by Test Screen Name | Most Valuable Participant

CMYK isn't a generic thing. There are many diffferent kinds of CMYK, to match diffferent kinds if only and paper. Use the wrong CMYK and your results may be unacceptably bad. So you CANNOT prepare one CMYK file and have the job done. In preparing files for print you have to start with the detailed diecifucations from the print provider. Many people starting out look for the "best apps and settings pros would use". But what pros do is find out each job's details first. 

TOPICS