Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Printing white background in Illustrator

New Here ,
Oct 02, 2017 Oct 02, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi there,

I'm new to Illustrator and would very much appreciate your help.

I'm trying to create a file with a logo to be print on an aluminium board with white background colour. What do I need to set in Illustrator that the white background is printed on the board?

Cheers,

naturamed

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Engaged , Oct 02, 2017 Oct 02, 2017

I’d just use the rectangle shape tool and fill with White (Hex #FFFFFF) than save as PDF, be sure to tell the printers you want the white background.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

How is it going to be "printed"? (Screen printing? Adhesive sign vinyl?...)

JET

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Engaged ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I’d just use the rectangle shape tool and fill with White (Hex #FFFFFF) than save as PDF, be sure to tell the printers you want the white background.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Merely filling a rectangle with white (whether you define it with hex values or not) will not cause it to print in normal color separation. There is no white ink in normal offset printing (nor in most composite printers). White in normal process color separation and in Illustrator means "no ink." To print something white, the swatch will have to be defined as a spot color, and a spot color can be defined using any values. Saving as PDF does not change any of that.