• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Printing white

New Here ,
Nov 10, 2020 Nov 10, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi im trying to print white onto clear vinyl but there's certain parts of the artwork not recognising the white. I am trying to print a Christmas scene and for some reason, especially the faces of the polar bear and snowman for example is just not printing white. I am using versa works 6 rip software and I am using the white Spot on colour. If I do a snowman on its own it will show pink on versaworks so I know it recongises the white but when I put it together the face goes back to grey 🤬. I'm new to all this printing and Adobe business so I know it's something I'm doing/not doing but I can't for the life of me figure out what it is. There's also no clipping masks in the art work.

Please can someone help me before I tear my hair out 🙏

Thank you in advance 

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Expert , Nov 10, 2020 Nov 10, 2020

When you set up your file at first, you must had had the white ink underneath the color print elements. This seems to make sense intuitively, but (as you have seen), it casues the elements you put above it to knock out the white.

In your art file, place the spot white on a layer above your color print. Set it to overprint so that it does not knock out the other colors. It will be on top in your art file, but you can tell the printer that it will be printed under your other inks.  

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert , Nov 11, 2020 Nov 11, 2020