• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Questioning GPU performance - is there any data?

Explorer ,
Dec 28, 2017 Dec 28, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

• With GPU Support enabled, how much of a difference does GPU power make from one GPU to the next, to performance in large illustrator files?
  • In Illustrator*, without GPU Support enabled, does the GPU have any impact at all on performance? If so, does that difference improve with a more powerful GPU?
  • Is there any independent benchmark data comparing performance in Illustrator between various GPUs?

I’m a professional Illustrator working in Adobe Illustrator on very demanding files. My desktop is a beast and my files can slow that down to a crawl, so I have to be careful about how I manage my files. I’m currently looking at getting a new laptop – the perfect balance between portability and power (eg.  Dell XPS 15 vs Gigabyte Aero and other competitors with more powerful GPUs). Is there any point in going for a fancy GTX 1060(+) as opposed to a cheaper GPU, for real-world performance in Illustrator? But I’m leaving that decision till later, until I properly understand the answer to the above questions.

From what I can see, most of the advice people get in response to "what hardware should I buy" seems to be theoretical, extrapolated from each card’s technical specification and gaming benchmark scores, as if that would translate to more performance in Illustrator*. But my experience has made me leery of such talk, especially when it emanates from the marketing depts. of Nvidia and Adobe themselves.