Highlighted

Rotating to guidelines that are in the image (jpg)

Community Beginner ,
May 20, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have a scan of an old busness card that I would like to re-use after I make a few changes.  The cards came in an 11" x 14" sheet at the time and they had guidelines on them to show where to make the cuts.  So my scan is of one card but not cut out perfectly - it still has the guidelines - it still needs to be trimmed.

The scan is a 3.88 MB jpg.

How can I rotate the scan to align perfectly with the guidelines?  I am brand new to Illustartor.

Adobe Community Professional
Correct answer by Monika Gause | Adobe Community Professional

You need to turn on Smart Guides. And you need to edit the Preferences > Smart Guides and then to rotate the cards exactly, you can do it like this: https://www.dropbox.com/s/0nbhpeauqiboh2f/rotate.mp4?dl=0

Topics

Draw and design, How to, Tools

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more

Rotating to guidelines that are in the image (jpg)

Community Beginner ,
May 20, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have a scan of an old busness card that I would like to re-use after I make a few changes.  The cards came in an 11" x 14" sheet at the time and they had guidelines on them to show where to make the cuts.  So my scan is of one card but not cut out perfectly - it still has the guidelines - it still needs to be trimmed.

The scan is a 3.88 MB jpg.

How can I rotate the scan to align perfectly with the guidelines?  I am brand new to Illustartor.

Adobe Community Professional
Correct answer by Monika Gause | Adobe Community Professional

You need to turn on Smart Guides. And you need to edit the Preferences > Smart Guides and then to rotate the cards exactly, you can do it like this: https://www.dropbox.com/s/0nbhpeauqiboh2f/rotate.mp4?dl=0

Topics