• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Save as PDF Options in the printer dialog are not supported error in Illustrator

Explorer ,
Jul 05, 2020 Jul 05, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I'm on MacOsCatalina. I'm trying to use the features of the page layout on my new Canon TA-20 printer. I'm following the instructions to use the page layout on the printer to print my Illustrator document. When I click on the Canon Free Layout icon, Illustrator is giving me the warning "the save as PDF options in the printer dialog are not supported. My question is, does Adobe allow use of a PDF pop-up and if not, does anyone know how I can still use this feature? NOTE - I'm VERY new to Adobe so sorry if this is a dumb question! Thanks in advance. 

On Canon's website, it gives a warning that says:

• You start Free Layout from a PDF pop-up menu.

Therefore, it cannot be started with application software that does not allow use of a PDF pop-up menu.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jul 06, 2020 Jul 06, 2020

You might need to download and install a PPD in order to print to a PDF on a Mac. Here is a link to the PPD and instructions on how to install it:

https://helpx.adobe.com/indesign/kb/add-acrobat-ppd.html

Alternatively, you can use InDesign or an imposition program to layout your pages.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Explorer ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

FYI...I'm using brand new illustrator version 24.2 

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,