• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Saving print-ready artwork with transparency

New Here ,
Oct 26, 2020 Oct 26, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, I am wondering what the proper way is to succesfully save print-ready artwork that contains transparency?  I have a document that I've layered a vector with both a gradient and transparency over my artwork.  I've been saving it as an EPS and using distiller to create a PDF.  The vector with the transparency is not displaying properly on the final PDF. 

I'm a mostly self-taught seasoned graphic artist but I know I'm missing a key piece of information in this particular process. I typically find a work around, but want to get to the bottom if it once and for all. 🙂 Can someone please point me in the right direction? 

Many thanks in advance for your valuable insights. 🙂 

TOPICS
Draw and design , Import and export , Print and publish

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Expert , Oct 26, 2020 Oct 26, 2020

Unfortunately one of the things saving to EPS/distilling does to achieve that filesize is the removal of transparency.

If you turn off 'Preserve Illustrator Editing Capabilities' in the PDF options, does that have an effect on filesize?

Votes

Translate

Translate
New Here , Oct 26, 2020 Oct 26, 2020

For me, the best results when printing happened when I created and EPS version and opened, flattened in Photoshop. Printers do not handle Transparency and Effects in Vector artwork. Flattened images print the best! Good luck!

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Lilly,

Do you need the EPS step here? Why not save a PDF directly from Illustrator?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines