Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Script to Grab Existing Object and Resize to Current Selection

Explorer ,
Apr 22, 2021 Apr 22, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I am a production artist looking for a script to prevent me from doing a monotomous tasks at work.

Currently when creating proofs we have to resize our heading and grommets and scale them proportionately to fit the height on each side of the flag (front and back).

I am looking for a script that grabs the group containing the heading & grommets and scales it to fit the height of the current selection.

Screen Shot 2021-04-22 at 2.05.58 PM.png

Any help would be appreciated thank you!

TOPICS
Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Guide , Apr 27, 2021 Apr 27, 2021

The message says the error is in line 1. This targets the first and second paths in a selected container (here a group) and deciding, based on their x positions, which is right and which is left. The error imples that the two items in the selected group are not simple paths. So try the following, which targets pageItems (all art items):

if (app.selection[0].pageItems[0].position[0] > app.selection[0].pageItems[1].position[0]) {
    var right = selection[0].pageItems[0], left = selection[0].pageI

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

There you may find some (old) scripts that may still work and do what you are looking for:

http://illustrator.hilfdirselbst.ch/dokuwiki/en/skripte/javascript/uebersicht

Search for Wolfgang's entries and the russian width and height things.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Guide ,