• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Speedometer recreation of the dashed lines

Explorer ,
Apr 21, 2012 Apr 21, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello;  I'm fairly new to Illustrator and I'm trying to fiure out the best (balance of accuracy and time) method of recreating a vintage speedometer.  This is the dial that I need to recreate and I need this to be in vector form which is why I've chosen Illustrator for the project.  Is there anyone that could give me some pointers on how to best go about doing this.  I did play around with the dashes/width point vs gap and that seem to work okay, but there must be a better more accurate way of accomplishing this.  Here is the vintage dial that I'm trying to recreate.  Also, the 3 semi-circles are not really the problem, it's the hash marks that I'm needing help with. 

150 speedo.jpg

Thanks for any help that can be given, it is very much appreciated.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Apr 22, 2012 Apr 22, 2012

Congratulations, Jber, and good luck with the font.

You may have a look at the following sites for (something like) it, or create the lettershapes.

http://www.myfonts.com/WhatTheFont/

http://www.identifont.com/

http://www.whatfontis.com/

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

snap_003.jpg

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

As an alternative you could also use blends with the replace spine option....

Mylenium

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Apr 22, 2012 Apr 22, 2012