• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Stroked Text without Fill?

Engaged ,
Sep 24, 2020 Sep 24, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The goal is to export a text block with one copy Stroked/Outlined with no interior fill. The second copy should be filled, with no stroke. (these will export to a 3D modeling app) 

When I create a text block having a 2Pt stroke and no fill, it remains filled -not transparent. What is required for this appearance?

I also tried creating path objects from the text, with the stroke outlined. But then there are compound path errors as I’m prompted that the objects are grouped and can’t become compound. The AI interface has become so complex, that all I encounter are seemingly arbitrary dead ends. (I’m primarily a Photoshop artist -where there are always intuitive solutions to any goal) Is it not possible to spec a simple text block with a solid stroke and no fill? I would then outline the stroked characters and export. The simple filled text copy would then be outlined/exported separately.
I have attached a very garish example of the ultimate construction.
I also see that active Spellcheck doesn’t seem to work here. Is there a way to enable that?
Thanks.
Screen Shot 2020-09-24 at 10.12.52 AM.jpg
TOPICS
Draw and design , Type

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Sep 24, 2020 Sep 24, 2020

What I am gleaning from your description is that you are not able to achieve something like this:

tromboniator_0-1600983009311.png

Is this correct, or am I missing something?

If you select the stroked version does the bottom of the toolbar show the fill as empty (white square with red stripe)?

tromboniator_1-1600983176579.png