• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

thin white lines/boxes appearing when saving as PDF in X-1a:2001 or X-3:2002 format for book printer

Explorer ,
Jan 02, 2020 Jan 02, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey there,

Newbie here. I managed to create a book cover in Illustrator, get it uploaded to Amazon KDP print (massive thanks to you guys helping me with last problem!!!!) and, after a fine proof copy, hit publish on Amazon. So far so good. Reader copies look nearly as good as the proof, so I know my original file can create a satisfactory printed cover.

However, when I try to create a PDF of the cover for Ingram Spark (the necessary second printer for bookstores and libraries) the file suddenly gets very thin white lines/rectangles around many of the images, esp along the spine. Presumably, these will show up on the final book cover if they're in the PDF. Question is: how do I get rid of them?

Ingram Spark requires the PDF be either X-1a:2001 or X-3:2002, so that's what I'm selecting when I save a copy as PDF in Illustrator. If I save it as Illustrator Default PDF, the file is fine--no lines/boxes.

Here's a screenshot of the PDF with the lines. You might have to look at your screen from the side to see them.

Screen Shot 2020-01-02 at 8.42.50 PM.png

Some of the outlined objects have glow effects, but it also runs along some areas where there's a hidden seam (like where I mirrored and joined the red leather background together) or where multiple objects meet. If I flatten the transparencies before I export, the problem is even worse.  Note: the background images are overlapped so it's not gaps between them. 

The color mode is CMYK which is what the printer requires and here is a pic of the color settings:

Screen Shot 2020-01-02 at 8.26.04 PM.png