Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Using Spreadsheet Data to transform Illustrator objects

Community Beginner ,
Apr 28, 2021 Apr 28, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi All,

I am no programmer by any means nor am I a speadsheet guru but I have recently got some data on Google Sheets that I want to use to make life MUCH easier. I want to tell Illustrator to look at the spreadsheet know how many object to create, how far to move them and then how much to rotate them by on a given coordinate … but I don't know the first thing about how to tackle it.

I have been using Illustrator since I was 16 (I'm now 40!) and I have never touched Variable Data, importing spreadsheets data, or Actions (I used Actions in PShop years ago) … and I suspect I probably have to use one or a combination of these to get my desired result. Can any kind soul point me in the right direction?

My convivial thanks in advance!

TOPICS
Draw and design , Import and export , Scripting , Tools

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,
Apr 28, 2021 Apr 28, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

going by your description, Variable Data won't help you. Variables are used to replace text as in Data Merge. You will need to write a script to read the data off the spreadsheet and use it to reposition objects. 

If you post a specific example maybe we could give further advise.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,
Apr 29, 2021 Apr 29, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thank you CarlosCanto!