• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

what can I save an eps file as so it's not huge (besides jpegs)?

New Here ,
Jun 22, 2009 Jun 22, 2009

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, I need to save an eps file to be sent to a publishing company. It should be a file that anyone there can open (it won't go first to the graphics people but the editors). I tried opening in Photoshop and saving as a tiff but it was HUGE. Any advice on what format to save the eps? I'm a novice user, so please dumb your answer down!

Thanks,

Diakea

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Advocate ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

A pdf file.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You can check out Preferences and de-select "Save PDF compatable file" or similar in Illustrator.  Do not embed images in the .eps in Illustrator.  Instead, link to images.  These are a few options to look at in Illustrator.  Why not send them a PDF?  Smaller and less hassle for them.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Er, followup.  I misread your post, I thought you wanted to save to a smaller .eps.  Sorry.  PDF would be a good alternative as stated in previous posts.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied