• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

When do changes to an artboard require the ai file to be saved

Engaged ,
Jul 21, 2021 Jul 21, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am a CC user using Illustrator 25.3.1 (64 bit) on Windows 10. I have a large project resulting in 40 A1 artboards with between 3 and 12 images as a collage on each artboard. Each artboard has 3 layes.

• A Guides layer
  • A Rectangles layer
  • A linked images layer.

I during the course of this project I have had to make random unique changes to one or more of the layers on an artboard. When is it required that I do a new save of the .ai file.

• 1. After any change to any of the layers
  • 2. Only changes to ???

I am trying to understand how the artboard file relates to its contents. My inclination is that any change to a layer requires a new .ai save as my last workflow step. Is this correct?

Jim

[please refrain from PII and 3rd party URLs in this area - Moderator]

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

While I'm not sure I get how your perceived need to ask your questions may have arisen, I will try to clarify some things for you.

Each artboard has 3 layes.

It would be better to think of (and state) it: "The file has 3 layers," because in fact, all the artboards share those 3 layers. That is, if you're working on one of the artboards and you add a 4th layer, now all the artboards have those same 4 layers.

When is it required that I do a new save of the .ai file.

• 1. After any change to any of the layers
  • 2. Only changes to ???