• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

When saving Illustrator document to PDF it turns pixelated - How to fix?

New Here ,
Jul 24, 2020 Jul 24, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello Adobe community!

I am relatively new to Illustrator. I created an Illustrator file for making a musical notation score (mostly black and white, lines and circles). When saving to PDF I realized that the PDF on the screen has a few problems: The main one is that I can see anchor points that are supposed to be hidden behind another image (luckily this appears to be a problem only for on the screen, not for printing). A second problem is that the lines are not completely smooth. When I print the document all the thin lines appear pixelated (dense dotted texture) and letters appear fainted, as if it is an old document. I have tried many types of resolution/quality/size settings and I alternated between CYMK and RGB. Nothing seemed to completely fix both problems. I am not sure what I am doing wrong.

My work was created on a newer MacBookPro. I had to emmigrate to my older computer temporarily. I saved the document to be compatible with the older Illustrator 2019 version so I don't lose any content. 
I am not sure if the problem has started from the computer shifting or from the original , but the computer I work with now is a MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2014) 10.12.6, Processor 2.5 GB, Memory 16 GB, Graphics NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2048 MB Intel Iris Pro 1536 MB.

Attached is the PDF file for your reference.

I have tried attaching the .ai file but it gives me the following error message:

"The attachment's reset_forum.ai content type (application/postscript) does not match its file extension and has been removed". Could that be the actual problem?

Thank you in advance!

TOPICS
Bug , Import and export , Performance , Print and publish , Tools

Views