• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Indd CC 2018 files show as Indd CS 5.5 files. No InDesign installed.

New Here ,
Nov 17, 2017 Nov 17, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

My team recently updated across the board to CC 2018. The designers updated first to InDesign and the editors followed with the update to InCopy.

Immediately after installing InCopy CC 2018, I noticed the InDesign files on our server were appearing as CS 5.5 InDesign files. I contacted support about it, and the fix was to install InDesign on my computer and open all the design files and resave them. I didn't need to do that. As soon as InDesign was installed, all the files appeared as the newest versions. However, I immediately uninstalled InDesign because I'm an editor and don't need access to it. After uninstalling, all the files reverted back to CS 5.5 icons.

We haven't had any compatibility issues, but it is a future concern because my computer thinks they are CS 5.5 files. I would hate for an update to be made that would cause corruption because the new programs couldn't read the old file types.

I saw the InCopy update this morning and hoped the bug would be among the fixes, but it wasn't.

Does anyone know what's going on and have a solution other than installing a program I don't need just so my icons are the right file type?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Nov 17, 2017 Nov 17, 2017

Honestly, I wouldn’t worry about it. If the files open, that’s all that matters.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied