• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

InDesign file that refuses to open in usable form

New Here ,
Aug 08, 2018 Aug 08, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am doing a Lynda.com course Learning InCopy. All was going well until lesson 2, when I had to open one of the exercise files ''story.indd' and found that although it opens all the text is greyed and a little window informed me "because this document contains no InCopy stories, galley view and story view are not available'.  I can select the various 'stories' on the spreads shown but cannot edit them. I have contacted Lynda.com but they say they have tested the exercise and it works fine for them. They advised me to download the latest version of InCopy, but I have that so that can't be the source of the problem. Any ideas? If I am having this problem with a 'test' file I fear I may have it with real jobs (I am a freelance editor)/

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Aug 08, 2018 Aug 08, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Open the assignments panel. Do you see InCopy content there?

Check the links panel as well.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Aug 10, 2018 Aug 10, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Suddenly  a  reply button has appeared! Sorry to be so slow, I seem to be having problems with websites as well. I have now heard from Lynda.com - apparently I am not supposed to be able to open the file concerned in InCopy. Bit strange that they include it in a course on Incopy...!! Thanks for trying to help

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Aug 20, 2018 Aug 20, 2018