• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Advice on Workflow needed

Explorer ,
Aug 14, 2021 Aug 14, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

CC on a Mac. I have a multi-chapter InDesign project. It includes links to multiple artboards in multiple .AI files. I'm a solo operator with a sometimes unreliable internet connection. So my inclination is to keep all of this material arranged in one folder on my harddrive. But I want to also keep it backed up, so that in the case of a crash I won't loose work. I keep my Desktop & Documents Folders in iCloud for this reason; however, trying to keep this big project there as well is making me crazy, as I sit and watch the spinning beachball.

Could someone offer me advice?

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Expert , Aug 15, 2021 Aug 15, 2021

If you save your InDesign documents and their assets in your Creative Cloud Files folder, which is installed by default in you User folder,  all the files will automatically get sync’d and backed up to your Adobe Cloud account, in the background when you do have an internet connection. An intermitent internet connection wouldn’t stop the sync’ing—for large files a slow internet connection might be a problem.

You wouldn’t see any performance hit because the InDesign files and their links would

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert , Aug 15, 2021 Aug 15, 2021

Yes that should work. You might want to experiment with a small folder of files first, so that you fully understand how it will work and check the sync’ing.

Sync’d files should show a green checkmark in your finder:

Screen Shot 12.png

Right click a file or folder and you can choose View on Web:

Screen Shot 13.pngScreen Shot 14.png