• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Auto Numbering Pages, Figures and Bullet Lists in Burmese/Myanmar Language

Community Beginner ,
Jul 17, 2022 Jul 17, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi I am very new to InDesign. I would like to know whether it is possible to have auto numbering in Burmese or not. If it's not possible out of the box, what are the options I have to achieve auto numbering? In LaTex, I can achieve auto numbering in Burmese using some macros. Can I do similarly in InDesign using some sort of scripting?

Thanks!

TOPICS
How to , Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Expert , Jul 18, 2022 Jul 18, 2022

Dig deeper. You can choose the numbrs you want, depending on the language version you have installed. It is possible to install several languageversions on top of each other.

In my example I have installed on top of each other German, Hebrew and Arabic. If you miss a numeric form, you have not installed any language which needs that number.

Numbers.png

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert , Jul 20, 2022 Jul 20, 2022

Totally relevant, here. What you propose to do is one of the things I did, ten or fifteen years ago. It works, and is often easier than manually lettering or numbering such lists. (I am still combing through the Wayback Machine looking for off-site references to posts about the discussions we had back then, about how to add kinds of complex-script auto-numbering and auto-lettering lists to InDesign without using edited fonts.) 

Speaking as someone who has had to work with these kinds of homebr

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
Jul 17, 2022 Jul 17, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied