Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Basic question about Paragraph Styles

New Here ,
Sep 15, 2022 Sep 15, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi everyone, 
I'm quite new to InDesign so I assume that this question is out there already but I don't have the keywords to effectively search for it. 

Sometimes I select all the text in a text box and choose a paragraph style, but InDesign won't fully apply the paragraph style. It might change most of it, but not the size or something. It puts the + sign at the end of the style to indicate that it's not the true style, and I can't force it to overwrite everything and just make the text that style. I often go find a different example of the paragraph style without the plus, and manually check and enter all the parameters until the + goes away. I'm sure that's not the best practise. 

Is there a reason this is happening which I can do something about? And if not, what am I doing wrong in my workflow? I'm sure most professionals working with InDesign aren't finding out during a product review that their headers were different sizes! 

Many thanks in advance, 
Gavin 

TOPICS
Performance , Type

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Honest answer: this would be a good place for a tutorial that covers all the basics.

The short answer is that InDesign will apply styles and try to preserve certain overrides that might be applied. For example, if you have a paragraph with one word italicized (using either a spot override, which is bad, or a character style, which is the right method) it will apply the style to everything but NOT remove that override.