Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Can I make a manuscript from my indesign book

Community Beginner ,
Sep 10, 2022 Sep 10, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hallo community

I'm brand new to Indesign.  I decided to learn Indesign because I made a book several years ago and it needs the whole look updating.  I found it so difficult editting it because it had to be converted to a pdf each time I sent it to the artist and it got very confusing.  The book is a yoga book with lots of pictures in it and I'm wondering if a) I can convert the book to another template or if I have to start from scratch.  If I have to start from scratch, I need to pull out the text and make a manuscript in a word document.  I've tried converting the indesign to word but that didn't help.  Is there any way I can take out all the formatting so it can just be editted in word?  Not sure if that makes any sense.  I'm slowly working my way through all the videos but I can't find anything that covers this particular issue.  Thank you so much, look forward to your replies. 

Joy 

TOPICS
EPUB , How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Sep 10, 2022 Sep 10, 2022

I see that the PDF you posted was made in InDesign version 17, so you've already converted it. You can export the text from InDesing to .rtf or .txt which can be edited in Word, but it needs to be done story-by-story, so unless all of the manin copy is linked into a single story (single flow of text from frame to frame) you'll have some work to do. You could link the frames yourself (work on a copy) since text reflow won't be important for editing in Word. You can try using the TextStitch plugin

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied