• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

choosing margin/column size

Contributor ,
Jun 19, 2021 Jun 19, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, i'm designing a book for a poem. A single poem that is, so the pages are quite sparse of words, 1-3 lines of text, 5-15 words per page, as well as 1-4 images (photographs). Each page has text and images placed in different places, with images of varying sizes. I have the type set at 12.5pt. The page size at w196mm x h240mm, and the margins at top21mm, bottom34mm, inside13mm and outside21mm. I'm quite new to indesign and typography in general, and have been researching how to design a book layout - (page size, margins, columns, baseline grid etc.) I find it quite hard to get a grasp of, as their are obviously endless variations of grids and layouts you can choose from. I finally decided on a page size/margin size as a starting point, but I still really don't undesrtand what might be considered well or badly designed measurements. All I could really understand was that it helps to have numbers with common denominators, and golden ratio numbers for the margins (which i used) I've looked all over for courses/videos that explain this, but when say choosing a margin size or page dimension, they never explain why exactly a certain measurement has been chosen, they just enter a seemingly arbitrary number.

I know this isn't specific to Indesign but if anyone could please explain or advise me on how to make these decisions it'd be much appreciated! Images of my work in progress attached.Screenshot 2021-06-19 at 15.08.03.pngScreenshot 2021-06-19 at 15.08.22.pngScreenshot 2021-06-19 at 15.09.01.pngScreenshot 2021-06-19 at 15.10.08.png

TOPICS
How to , Print , Type

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied