• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Copying from PDF to InDesign - Character transfer issues

Community Beginner ,
Aug 27, 2021 Aug 27, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am relatively new to InDesign and am therefore a novice user, but I am noticing someting odd. I am currently working on a book layout, and the author provided the text to me as a PDF file (for whatever reason, she does not have it in any other file format). And I am noting that when I copy and paste text from the Adobe PDF to Adobe InDesign (most recent version through CC), a very significant amouont of material does not copy-and-past accurately. Any letter with an accent or other diacritical mark from the PDF too often appears as a totally different letter or character in InDesign, for example. Quotation marks that appear as curled in the original arrive in InDesign in a variety of forms, including curled and straight, even for the same quotation (i.e., opens with curled quotation marks but closes with straight vertical or even straight slanted ones). Lower case i becomes lower case l or lower case j. And so on. This makes no sense to me, and I cannot detect any logical reason why the copy-and-psate function should do this, especially since Adobe developed BOTH of those software programs (Acrobat and InDesign)! It is as though one Adobe product is not compatible with the other! Does Adobe InDesign work accurately ONLY if the input text comes from a (Microsoft) Word document?!? I should note that I have *never* had the problem when copying from Word to InDesign. Maybe this explains why all major publishers insist that author submissions be in Word and only Word? Maybe those major publishers are all too well aware that the two Adobe products are not compatible with each other, and therefore they refuse submissions in PDF????

TOPICS
Bug , Import and export , Performance

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines