• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Deleted InDesign files?

Community Beginner ,
Jan 23, 2022 Jan 23, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Does InDesign delete files without warning?  An important file is suddenly gone.

I have been working on a long and complicated document for several months, occasionally saving it as a PDF to share with others.

I opened InDesign and was surprised to not see the file offered in the Recent list (in fact, it showed nothing I had been working on in the last month, only older work), but I had been working on teh file regularly for the last two months. 

Then I looked in my folder and found that the file was gone.  The PDF copies are there, but the InDesign file is gone. It is as if I put the file in the trash, except that it is not in the trash and there is record of it in InDesign.

Has this ever happened to you?

Can the file be recovered somehow?

I know now that I should regularly save drafts with new names, so that the old version is available if the working version gets corrupted or lost, so please don't recommend that I do this in the future.  I will.  But is there any way to avoid re-creating the document from scratch?

And does anyone know why or how my files was lost?

FYI: I am working on my home desktop PC, not part of a network and I have never worked on the file elsewhere.

Thanks.

TOPICS
Bug , Performance , Sync and storage

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

No. InDesign does not just delete files on its own.

FWIW, you can avoid these headaches by working a Dropbox or Onedrive folder which would keep all versions you've worked on and allow you to recover a deleted file with one click.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines