Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Difference between svg and eps and how they work in InDesign & Illustrator

Contributor ,
Apr 10, 2022 Apr 10, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I have a subscription to vecteezy, which has many vector images for downloading. The zip file contains a jpeg, pdf and eps file. I find the eps filesalmost impossible to work with in InDesign, and if I open in Illustrator, I can't seem to select different objects in the image, say a group of music notes. If I convert to an svg file online, then I can work with the individual elements(music notes in this case). 

I am very confused as to which vector files I can use, especially in InDesign. What process do you recommend. Thanks in advance.

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Apr 10, 2022 Apr 10, 2022

Use the PDF would be the best advice. EPS is an old deprecated format and SVG support is somewhat buggy in InDesign sometimes.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Use the PDF would be the best advice. EPS is an old deprecated format and SVG support is somewhat buggy in InDesign sometimes.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

SVG in InDesign should only be used for electronically supplied formats like EPUB but never for print.

EPS is an old outdated file type which should not be used with InDesign any more,

JPG is not good for vectors, if you have a PDF use that.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied